Southampton Publick House Pumpkin Ale

IMG_6172 FIMG_6167all weather has been making its appearance of late and along with it has come several fall-fashion beers. The great majority of these are, of course, pumpkin beers. There are a ton of them out there and I’d like to make it my mission to try as many as possible and use this knowledge to help you make a more informed decision (I didn’t say the RIGHT decision). The choice I made today comes from the good folks at Southampton Publick House.  Now, it’s possible that I’m spoiled but after trying so many different offerings,  I’ve come to the conclusion that I prefer my beers with a ton of flavor right up front. For me,  “session” beers don’t have the same luster as they once did.  However, I’m not averse to them by any stretch. Let’s not lose our heads here! In case you forgot, a session beer can loosely be described as a beer that has a low alcohol content, around 4.5%, so that you can enjoy several in a session. The times between 11:00-3:00 and 7:00-11:00 have, in some circles, been blocked off for prime drinking sessions. Also, the low alcohol content means that you can have several rounds with your chums without getting overtly drunk. Since I don’t care much about keeping my drunkenness a secret, I define a good session beer more in terms of drinkability and flavor, regardless of alcohol content. Now, there are several beers that are so full-flavored that more than one or two would just be overwhelming. Think about how delicious your favorite dessert would taste after a light dinner. Now imagine eating eight of those desserts. Things would start to get really gross, really fast.  Southampton Public House Pumpkin Ale is definitely good as a session beer. It has nice, yet mild, pumpkin flavors and scents, with notes of pie spices such as nutmeg and vanilla. The color is attractive and lends itself to the whole autumn drinking experience. You could serve this beer with Thanksgiving dessert and it would enhance the experience without overpowering it. I recommend this seasonal ale as a first step if you’ve never had a pumpkin beer before and wanted to take the plunge.

Leave a Reply

